Programme 27- 28 May

Wednesday 27 May  
Venue Grieg Hall  
13:00 - 14:30 Registration for conference participants. Light lunch
15:00 - 17:30 Opening session and high-level dialogue

  • Welcome by Prime Minister Jens Stoltenberg
  • Introductory statement by Nobel Laureate Dr Rajendra K. Pachauri, IPCC
  • Conversation between Dr. Pachauri and Mr. Nobuo Tanaka, Executive Director, International Energy Agency
  • Leadership panel: Climate change - technology part of the answer. High-level participants tbc. Moderator: Mr. Nik Gowing, journalist and broadcaster
17:45 - 18:45 Concert organised by Bergen International Festival
More information here.
20:00  Buffet Dinner hosted by the Norwegian Government. By invitation only.
Thursday 28 May   
Venue Radisson SAS Royal Hotel, Bryggen
08:30 Coffee/doors open
08:45 - 17:00 Expert sessions with ministers

  • Opening remarks by Minister of Petroleum and Energy Terje Riis-Johansen
  • Opening remarks by Minister of the Environment and International Development Erik Solheim.
  • Keynote speech by Mr John Ashton, Special Representative for Climate Change, Foreign And Commonwealth Office
09:20 - 10:45 

Session I:  Delivering climate solutions. The potential of CCS

Moderator: Ms. Barbara McKee, Director, CSLF Secretariat


  • Ms Heleen de Coninck, Manager, Energy Centre of the Netherlands
  • Dr José Miguez, Executive Secretary of the Ministry of Science and Technology, Brazil
  • Mr Su Wenbin, President, GreenGen, China
  • Mr Carl O. Bauer, Director, National Energy Technology Laboratory, USA
  • Mr Tony Surridge, CEO, SANERI, South Africa
10:45 - 11:00 Coffee
11:00 - 12:25 Session II:  Environmentally sound transport and storage of CO2. Experiences and challenges
  Moderator: Mr Iain Wright, Procject Manager, BP Alternative Energy


  • Mr Knut Kroepelien, Environmental Councellor, Mission of Norway
    to the EU
  • Dr. Ganesh C. Thakur, Vice President, Global Advisor of Reservoir Management, Chevron
  • Dr Malcolm Wilson, Acting Director of IPAC-CO2
  • Dr Linus Spencer Thomas, AOSIS, Grenada
  • Ms Margaret Øvrum, Executive Vice President for Technology and New Energy, StatoilHydro


12:25 - 12:35 Student representatives from the Norwegian University of Science and Technology (NTNU)
12:35 - 13:30  Lunch (venue: Radisson SAS Royal Hotel, Bryggen)
13:30 - 15:00  Session III:  Global need for more energy and less CO2. Can we achieve both?
  Moderator: Ms Margaret Martin, Senior Director, National Resources Canada
  • Mr Edward McBride, journalist, The Economist
  • Mr Bill Hare, Scientist, Potsdam Institute for Climate Impact Research
  • Mrs Katherine Sierra, Vice President, Sustainable Development, The World Bank
  • Mr Frederic Hauge, President, Bellona Foundation
15:00 - 15:15 Coffee
15:15 - 16:45 Session IV:  Financing climate technologies. What incentives work for CCS projects?
  Moderator: Mr Milton Catelin, Chief Executive, World Coal Institute
  • Mr David Hone, Group Climate Change Adviser, Shell International   B.V
  • Mr Nick Otter, CEO, Global Carbon Capture and Storage Institute (GCCSI)
  • Ms Bronwen Northmore, Policy Director, Cleaner Fossil Fuel Unit, Dept. for Energy and Climate Change (UK)
  • Ms Lynn Sheppard, Policy Officer, International Climate Negotiations and Relations with East Asia - DG Environment
  • Mr Rashad Kaldany, Vice President, IFC





16:45 - 17:00

Closing session:

Closing summary by Mr Jonas Gahr Støre, Minister of Foreign Affairs






Updated 23 May 2009




Powered by WebSite